Long term health issues from chemicals

MSDSs, Storage, Handling, Transport, Labeling, computer management systems, and anything else to do with safety.
Estelleaf
State/Location: NSW

Long term health issues from chemicals

Post by Estelleaf »

Hi there,
I was wondering what kind of long term health issues anyone might be experiencing from being exposed to chemical vapours in the chemical storerooms? Or any health issues from exposure for that matter.
Merilyn1
Job Title: Labbie
School: Wollondilly Anglican College
Suburb: Tahmoor

Re: Long term health issues from chemicals

Post by Merilyn1 »

Really hard to quantify, Estelle. Each chemical will potentially have long term health effects and who knows of the problems with combinations of these. The SDS will have some information. My background is with pesticides and for years glyphosate was considered non-hazardous. They are now finding there is a link between this pesticide and some types of cancers. The moral, treat everything with respect (and a good dose of common sense - I can't see sodium chloride being a problem!)
Ensure that the storeroom is properly ventilated. The exhaust fan should be left running 24 hours a day. Ensure that all containers are properly sealed ie lids are firmly closed. I try to spend as little time as possible in the storeroom.
Your award or agreement should allow for regular blood testing at the employers expense.
Just remember that we are exposed to lots of potentially hazardous things throughout our day - exhaust fume, other chemicals. If we were to get in a panic we'd be living under a sheet of iron in a rainforest.
Please message me if you have questions.
macca
Job Title: Mind Reader

Post by macca »

Hi Estelleaf