precipitation prac

A general discussion and Q & A forum.
Courtney
State/Location: TAS

precipitation prac

Post by Courtney »

Hi all,

I'm having some trouble getting a precipitation prac to work and was wondering whether anyone had any ideas (my background is more human biology than chemistry).

They are doing a prac where they react Silver nitrate, lead nitrate and magnesium nitrate with potassium nitrate, chloride, iodide, sulphate and carbonate. I get all the right reactions occurring with everything but the silver nitrate with the potassium sulphate (should form a precipitate).

I'm told that prior my being here it worked with 0.1M solutions of each. I've tried making up fresh solutions of each and using a more conc (0.5M and 1M) solution of potassium sulphate but I get nothing. I'm hesitant to try increasing the strength of the silver nitrate as 1: we've never had it made up to anything stronger so I'm sure it should work and 2: it's so expensive.

I'm sure I'm probably just missing something really simple but at the moment I'm stumped so if anyone has any ideas I would be very appreciative.
Courtney

Re: precipitation prac

Post by Courtney »

Just spoke to a friend doing his PHD in chemistry. Even though I was told they always used 0.1M it is utterly impossible that this ever worked. It will only work using 1M silver nitrate and potassium sulphate.
Lyn
Job Title: Lab Assistant (Technician)
School: St. John's Catholic College
Suburb: Darwin
State/Location: NT

Post by Lyn »

I have just tried it with my chemicals and got no precipitate when adding 0.1M silver nitrate to 0.1M potassium sulfate. Sounds like you may have to make up a minute quantity of 1M for a teacher demonstration. I'ts always possible that it worked previously because the lab. tech used a 1M solution trying to please the teachers and didn't say anything. (Hang the expense!!!!)
Lyn.