Chemwatch Blue

MSDSs, Storage, Handling, Transport, Labeling, computer management systems, and anything else to do with safety.
JudyM
State/Location: NSW

Chemwatch Blue

Post by JudyM »

Does anyone else have trouble using chemwatch data base? I find the program very user UNFRIENDLY & am ready to tear out my hair. The main problem is if you're in a hurry & accidently make a spelling mistake there's no way to stop the program from going on it's merry way sorting through 20,000 odd chemicals to finally telling you after 10mins or so that there's no match.
I've also completed the chemical register for my school & my arm ached as i had to do so much mouse clicking when the addition of a scroll bar would make things much easier. Being a school carries little weight when dealing with this company. Are there any alternatives out there? :x
estelle
Job Title: VIP
School: Wollumbin High
Suburb: Murwillumbah

Post by estelle »

I have been using the chemwatch program for a few years.It takes a while to set up but once it is I find it really useful. When I first set it up I put each chemical in each specific area and on a specific shelf. Makes it easy to find chemicals that aren't used a lot and I can't remember where they are stored. By just doing a search and then clicking on stored in/at the program tells me exactly where to find it.

I have entered the whole school chemical stocktake on the program and if auditors are asking I can tell them exactly where and how much of each chemical the school has.
Once a year I do a chemical stocktake and I print out each individual area and then just write next to each chemical if there are any changes.
I agree there are some frustrating aspects to the program though.

Aside from the program, I have found it helpful to write on the lid of each chemical bottle eg. 3/6, meaning shelf 3, section 6. and I know exactly where to return the bottle. (especially if teachers leave them around).
Estelle
JudyM

Chemwatch Blue

Post by JudyM »