Standard Operating Procedure (SOP) for removal of chemicals

MSDSs, Storage, Handling, Transport, Labeling, computer management systems, and anything else to do with safety.
labbiejess
Job Title: Lab assistant
School: MCC
State/Location: QLD

Standard Operating Procedure (SOP) for removal of chemicals

Post by labbiejess »

Hi im new here,

Just wondering if anyone has a SOP in removing chemicals on site with the disposal company. Our facilities manager organizes the admin side and removal and the labbie organizes the chemicals. However, as I have jumped into the role as a newbie I noticed that Mercury was missed at the end of 2023. I was just curious as to the process and if there is procedure that all stages can follow? I know we have a manifest and that gets filled out and sent off but shouldn't the chemical disposal company/ or our facilities manager be ticking off these chemicals when they leave the premises?

Any advise would be appreciated

Thank you
Merilyn1
Job Title: Labbie
School: Wollondilly Anglican College
Suburb: Tahmoor
State/Location: NSW

Re: Standard Operating Procedure (SOP) for removal of chemicals

Post by Merilyn1 »

Welcome aboard!
I don't think you would need to be as detailed as that. Having a list of chemicals going out for disposal, with a date they were collected would be sufficient. Ensure that your chemical register is updated to show any chemicals that are gone for good.

When chemicals are collected, do you keep them stored in Science until collection or does someone else hold them? You still need to ensure the chemicals are safely stored, even if it is an interim arrangement until they are collected.

I'll PM you with my email address if you want some more info.
labbiejess
Job Title: Lab assistant
School: MCC

Post by labbiejess »

Hi! Thank you for a response. I tried emailing you but it didn't go through.